A Buffalo Kind of Day

The morning weather was gorgeous here!

Allison & I share a mutual friend, Frank. When I saw her infamous “Spicy Oats”, I had one of those why didn’t I think of that moments. Although not a fan of fake meat products that are processed and contain soy, there is a box of leftover Morningstar Farms Veggie Patties in the freezer, and hey I gotta use them up! This is a very filling breakfast! (Can you see that I even used a Tabasco mug? 🙂 )

Green Dog Spicy Oats

Green Dog Spicy Oats

After breakfast, the hubby left some coffee for me so I enjoyed a cup with a dab of Half & Half, and half a packet of Truvia.

Wanted to get in a quick workout to get the blood flowing, and tried Exercise T.V.’s “Upper Body Stretch” by Jillian Michaels (under the 10 minute workout section). What a joke! It was only 2 minutes long, and the rest was an advertisement for her DVD. Blah. Next, I tried “Explosive Upper Body” by Patrick Murphy. This was also under the 10 minute section, but was really 23. It had some fun warm-ups that involved balance. The power push-ups (pushing off so your hands are off the ground) were hard! I need to work on that. I would do Patrick’s workout again.

(Warning: more beige food with red stuff on top ahead.)

Mid-Morning Snack

Mid-Morning Snack

We desperately need to go to the market for groceries, so it was slim pickings for a mid-morning snack. So I heated up half of a leftover chicken breast (chicken dipped in Frank’s Buffalo Sauce, breaded with Panko & baked at 350 degrees, topped with more Buffalo Sauce), and the bottom-of-the-bag crumbs from Food Should Taste Good’s Buffalo Chips. I have to be honest, these chips are not nearly as good as their Sweet Potato Chips. I did not get the buffalo taste at all. Pretty disappointing, especially since I love buffalo!

Lunch! Leftover Stuff I Found in the Fridge.

Lunch! Leftover Stuff I Found in the Fridge.

Lunch was the other half of the buffalo panko chicken & a tiny dollop of mashed potatoes (all that was left). It was such a small portion, that I needed something else to fill me up. I found an Amy’s Cheese Pizza Pocket in the freezer, and heated that up. It sort of exploded in the microwave and the sauce oozed out so it looks sloppy. I really like the taste of the dough in this. Everything was topped with a few shakes of aleppo pepper.

Clouds & Roses

Clouds & Roses

Later in the day, I went outside to read my June/July issue of Clean Eating magazine. Such great recipes! Can’t wait to make the orange chia pops!!! While basking in the sun, watching blue jays, I had a Greens+ Yogurt Bar and a “jonic”??? Since quitting soda (will talk about that in another post), I sometimes mix 1 part juice with 3 parts seltzer to make a jeltzer! However, we are out of seltzer water, so instead tried this with diet tonic water. The verdict is still out… having a hard time liking tonic water. Luckily it was the last bottle in the fridge, probably won’t buy more. What do you think of tonic water?

Greens+

Greens+

Later, we went to a BBQ party to celebrate the start of summer, which was all catered. Had a chicken sandwich with a dollop of barbeque sauce, coleslaw, broccoli salad, cajun potato salad (not healthy AT ALL, but tasty in moderation) & strawberries & pineapple. They also had a keg. 🙂 No pics of the party food… I did not know these people that well (hubby’s co-workers) and didn’t want to make a scene photographing food. 🙂

We had a nice bonfire back at home with some coffee. A sweet end to a beautiful day. That changed though when I found out that Grandpa is in the hospital. Nothing too serious, but he will have to be there a few days and it is always scary when loved ones are in the hospital. Mom is staying the night with him, so I know he is in good hands. There is not much that I can do right now, except to send positive thoughts that he’ll be okay.

4 responses to this post.

  1. ahhh, a girl after my own heart! 🙂 so glad you tried it and liked it!!!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. WCW is the best peanut butter arounddd! 😉 It’s “white chocolate wonderful” peanut butter, and it actually has great nutritionals and tastes amazing!!! You feel like you’re eating dessert, but it’s completely healthy! Here’s the link:
    http://www.ilovepeanutbutter.com/detail_17010005__4.html

    I’ve tried the amy’s tofu pocket and loved that one! The doughy outside is great!
    Have a good weekend girl!

    Reply

  3. What a neat oatmeal mixture this morning! It actually sounds pretty darn delicious! 🙂 And what a pretty, summery picture of the roses and sky. Don’t you just LOVE summer!?

    Sorry to hear about your Grandpa. I hope everything goes well with his health. I’ll keep him in my thoughts and prayers!

    Hope your lovely weekend continues into Sunday!

    xxoo
    Heather

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lyss on June 7, 2009 at 3:28 am

    Buffalo days are my kind of days! I’m adddicccccted to that hot sauce. I literally run to the store when I finish my bottle – and let me tell you, it happens quite often!

    Love your blogggy 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

