Running My First 5k, A Reflection

The night before the run, I had a (not-so) bright idea of going to Starbucks and getting coffee. When I tried to go to bed at around 10:00, the caffeine was not letting me. I was completely wound-up, wide-awake and despite my best efforts did not fall asleep until around 1:00am. Then I woke up at 3:00am, 4:00am and finally when my alarm went off at 6:00am.

To add to that, my tummy was very upset in the morning. That coupled with poor sleep had me in a funk and not feeling as confident as I should on my first race day.

Once I got to there and picked up my packet (which included a cool t-shirt! hooray!), I was much happier. I do have to note, that this particular run was labeled as a “competitive race”, not a “fun run”. In my mind, the only person I was racing against was myself though. I had a personal goal in mind, and was going to try not to feel intimated by all the hard-core runners there. Although I’ve done bicycling rides/races before, this was my first organized running event. There are a lot of similarities in the two, which made it a wee bit more comfortable. I was surprised at all the people running BEFORE the race! Yes, they were practically sprinting down the course, as if they were being timed. For a second, I thought maybe the race had begun! I opted to NOT join them in their pre-race “warm-up” runs, and just sat & hung out with the hubby who was there to support me and take pictures. :)

Waiting Around, 5 Minutes Before Start

Waiting Around, 5 Minutes Before Start

I wore my bicycling sunglasses, since it was already in the mid-seventies and hot & sunny (and HUMID!) at 8:00 in the morning. Are bicycling and running glasses the same? I guess it doesn’t matter as long as they stay on your face and don’t slip. These are great and never slide on me.

I started towards the back, letting the serious runners stay in front. I didn’t even hear them fire the gun, blow the whistle, or say go… next thing I knew everyone around me was running forward and I thought “Oh wow, I guess we are running now!”. I wore my HRM to sort-of keep track of time, and looked down and it was only 1:30 into the race and I had all these thoughts yelling inside my head: “What am I doing? Am I really running with all these people? Will I make it? Maybe I’ll just go over to that tree and nap. I think I should have went to the bathroom before. I have to pee. Oh shit, I have to pee and now I am only 1:45 into the race. I’m thirsty. No, if I drink more water I will really pee. Oh that little dog in that yard is so cute. Wonder what his name is?”

Finally the crowds dispersed and I was in a much smaller group of runners, and the loud thoughts in my head went away.

A guy passed me who smelled like raw onions. Really? Only 1/2 mile into the race and he already stinks that bad? Whew. Lucky for me he was faster than myself, so he took his onion-smell to the front of the pack.

Then this other guy was running to my right at my same pace, and he had keys and change in his pocket. Jingle, jingle, jingle. It was so annoying, so I ran faster. Then he ran faster. Then I ran slower, he ran slower. I really hoped he would not be next to me for long.

At the 1 mile mark, I was at 10:10. We were now “in the woods”, and it was so humid and the canopy of trees had shut out any sunlight, and kept the moisture inside. The ground was still wet from all the rain from previous days, and there were some slippery slimey leaves on the ground which made me aware of what was underfoot.

A little later, I was behind a woman who was hyperventilating so loud. Her breathing scared me. I know everyone breathes loud, but she was wheezing. Asthma I wondered? A little while later I passed her, and hoped she make it.

Mile Marker 2 came up, and they shouted out “21 even!”. This is when I took advantage of the water they were handing out. It is so hard to drink and run at the same time, I couldn’t do it, so I stopped off to the side for maybe 15 seconds to drink a few sips, then back on track. Mile 3 seemed the longest, I kept thinking I’d see the Mile Marker people at the next corner, but nobody was there.

When I finally did cross Mile 3, I did not hear the time. I was just relieved that there were only .2 left! Should I sprint now? Hmm… I kept at the same pace and ended up behind 3 other women, and we all ran in a pack. As soon as I saw the finish line, I got a burst of energy and sprinted to get the edge. After all, this WAS a race, so why not?

I saw my husband there at the finish line, which made me so happy to see a familiar face

Crossing The Finish!

Crossing The Finish!

Time of first 5k: 33:20.7 – Finished 119

The first thing my husband said was “You did it sweetie. I am glad you didn’t puke.” I thought maybe he said that because my tummy was not well that morning, but I guess 5 minutes before I crossed, 3 people crossed the finish line and threw up all within 10 seconds of one another. Is this common?

Did not stick around for awards or results (had to go home and shower to meet up with the in-laws for SUSHI! Priorities, people!). Grabbed half a banana, water and a few power bars for later and went home. It felt good to have finished, and I did better than I thought! Certainly I am not going to win any awards with that time, but I made it and now can’t wait to do another one! These things are addicting!

8 responses to this post.

  1. congratulations! I am so happy you commented on my blog and I found yours- I literally just finished downloading the podcast to start the ‘coach to 5K’ program… I’ve never run before so this was a great read for me and can’t wait to read more of your blog!

    Reply

  2. congrats on running the 5k!!! thats awesome :D
    sorry to hear about the starbucks problem

    Reply

  3. CONGRATS!!! What a night – darn Starbucks! The jingles would have annoyed me as well!! Glad you didn’t puke :D

    Reply

  4. Posted by sodena on June 22, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Yay for running the 5k! Congrats!
    I usually run in a visor instead of sunglasses. If your sunglasses didn’t bother you then woo hoo! but I always think they get in the way lol

    Reply

  5. oh i loved the race recap! and yes i am glad you didnt puke haha.. that is good. CONGRATS to you lady! xoxo

    Reply

  6. Your blog is gorgeous!! I’m loving all of these eats I see! :)

    Congrats on the 5k!! I’m sure puking is common, but if you stay hydrated you should be able to avoid it (i’d think!??!).

    Have a good Monday! :)

    Reply

  7. Wow great job!! I’ve ran a few 5 k and I don’t think I ever got under 35 minutes, I am such a slow runner.

    Reply

  8. This is such a great race re-cap! I remember having those exact same thoughts when I ran my 1st 5k. It’s funny how the first mile is always the worst, but once you get past that, it just seems to flow.

    There is a quote in RW that I love on running marathons- “After I ran my first marathon, I felt like I wanted to dye, and then a mintue later, I was looking where I could sign up for the next one.”

    So true! It’s addiciting. You run these things and the first 5 min, you tell yourself, “What the hell am I doing” but after you finish you are on such a high and can’t wait for the next one. :)

    So glad you did it girl! Way to go. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

